South Australia Road Maintenance Contracts

South Australia Road Maintenance Contracts

The South Australian Government is seeking to contract the maintenance of the Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure’s entire 23,000-kilometre road network. The maintenance contracts have been divided into four zones and will cover 14,000 kilometres of sealed and 9,000 kilometres of unsealed roads across South Australia. The four zones are:

  • Metropolitan Adelaide
  • Regional South
  • Regional North, and
  • Outback

The scope of works for the maintenance contracts includes:

  • Routine, specific and cyclical road maintenance
  • Emergency response
  • Mechanical, electrical, and intelligent transport systems, and
  • Minor capital improvements and annual renewal works programs.

Key Dates

Apr 2019 EOIs Open
Jul 2019 RFT Open
Jul 2020 Contract Award
Nov 2020 Construction Commencement
Nov 2027 Expected Construction Completion


Successful Tenderer: Zone 1 - Metropolitan Adelaide: DM Roads (a subsidiary of Downer) Zone 2 - Regional South: Fulton Hogan Zone 3 - Regional North: DM Roads (a subsidiary of Downer) Zone 4 - Outback: Lendlease Boral Joint Venture


Apr 2019 Expressions of Interest were opened for the project.
Apr 2019 the DPTI held an industry briefing
Apr 2019 The DPTI held an industry briefing.
Jun 2019 EOIs closed.
Jul 2019 The DPTI issued a Request for Tender.
Nov 2019 RFT process closed.
Dec 2019 The DPTI undertook an Evaluation and Negotiation process, finishing in May 2020.
Jul 2020 Contracts for each zone were awarded.
Procurement approach
Traditional Procurement |
South Australia |
Infrastructure Australia status
Not considered