Major Contract

Sydney Metropolitan Bus Contract Four - Hills district

Sydney Metropolitan Bus Contract Four - Hills district

The NSW Government will competitively tender 13 of the 14 Sydney Metropolitan Bus Contracts between 2020 and 2022.

Among these 13 contracts, the NSW Government will be competitively tendering Bus Region Four, which is currently operated by Hillsbus. Region Four covers the Hills district area, which includes Paramatta, Pennant Hills, Castle Hill and Rouse Hills. Other principal suburbs include Dural, Blacktown and Baulkham Hills.

The new contracts will introduce additional bus services, provide innovative new service options, including a new fleet of zero emissions buses that will reduce air and noise pollution, and on-demand options.

Under the new contracts, the NSW Government will still own State Transit buses and assets such as depots. They will also retain the right to regulate timetables, safety, service priorities and set fares under the Opal system. Operators will be given some autonomy in the way they plan and run services.

Key Dates

Oct 2019 Project Announced
Mar 2023 Region Four expected to transition to new provider


Oct 2019 The NSW Government announced it will competitively tender 13 of the 14 Sydney metropolitan bus contracts over the coming three years. This follows the award of Bus Region Six in 2018 to Transit Systems. The NSW Government also announced it will be replacing Sydney's diesel bus fleet with electric vehicles.
Dec 2019 An industry briefing detailed the procurement timeline for the contracts. 13 contracts are expected to be tendered over the next three years, with new contracts established by early 2023.
Other Transport
Procurement approach
Service Contract |
New South Wales |
Media releases